#21-0348

**TO**: Honorable Mayor & Members of the

Fort Lauderdale City Commission

**FROM**: Chris Lagerbloom, ICMA-CM, City Manager

**DATE**: April 20, 2021

**TITLE**: Motion Approving Recommendations from the Walk of Fame Committee

for the 2021 Walk of Fame Inductees - (Commission Districts 1, 2, 3

and 4)

### Recommendation

Staff recommends the City Commission approve a motion accepting the recommendations from the Walk of Fame Committee for the 2021 Inductees into the City of Fort Lauderdale Walk of Fame

## **Background**

Because no honorees were selected in 2020 due to COVID-19, in addition to applications that were received during the month of February, the applications submitted for 2020 were also considered for this year's selection.

The Walk of Fame Committee met on March 30<sup>th</sup> to consider nominations for the 2021 Walk of Fame. Following discussion, the committee voted unanimously to recommend the following individuals for induction into the City of Fort Lauderdale's Walk of Fame:

Sylvia Aldridge Eugenia Duncan Ellis Michael E. Hurst John D. MacDonald

Upon confirmation by the City Commission, the honorees will be officially notified of their selection. The induction ceremony for this year's honorees as well as the honorees selected for 2019 will be at the City's Fourth of July celebration.

#### **Resource Impact**

There is no fiscal impact to the City associated with this action.

# **Strategic Connections**

This item is a 2021 Top Commission Priority, advancing the Parks and Public Places initiative.

This item supports the *Press Play Fort Lauderdale 2024* Strategic Plan, specifically advancing:

- The Public Places Focus Area
- Goal 3: Building a healthy and engaging community
- Objective: Offer a diverse range of recreational and educational programming

This item advances the Fast-Forward Fort Lauderdale Vision Plan 2035: We are Here.

## **Attachments**

Exhibit 1 – Walk of Fame Nominee Applications

Exhibit 2 - Walk of Fame Committee Draft Minutes - March 30, 2021

Exhibit 3 - Walk of Fame Committee Approved Minutes - September 26, 2019

Prepared by: Sarah Hannah-Spurlock, Nighttime Economy Manager

Charter Officer: Chris Lagerbloom, ICMA-CM, City Manager