CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE Walk of Fame Committee City Hall, 100 N. Andrews Avenue, 8th Conference Room Friday, May 24, 2019 – 9:00 a.m. DRAFT MINUTES

Committee Members Present

Sonya Burrows Denyse Cunningham Dr. Harry Moon (designee of George Hanbury) Robert Lochrie, III Patrick Shavloske Lillian Small

Staff Present

Tim McGovern, Staff Liaison Angela Sabina, Public Information Specialist Chaz Adams, Strategic Communications Manager Karen Newhart, Parks and Recreation

Also Present

Bobby Henry, Sr. Ina Lee Jim Pancallo George Platt Tim Schiavone Susan Smoker Kane

Welcome

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 a.m. Staff Liaison Tim McGovern encouraged all committee members, staff members, and the public to introduce themselves.

Approval of Minutes

MOTION: Moon/Shavloske. A motion was made to approve the 2018 Walk of Fame Committee minutes. Passed unanimously.

Committee Background

Staff Liaison McGovern briefly summarized the establishment of the Walk of Fame Committee and invited former committee members to add their comments. Chaz Adams discussed the committee member terms and term limits.

Members of the public addressed the committee. Tim Schiavone congratulated the new committee members and mentioned that the previous committee members were exploring meeting more often to discuss the selection process. He also mentioned that he hopes the Walk of Fame commemorative marble pavers will remain on the beach

walkway despite the construction project. Ina Lee spoke about how honorable it is to be recognized as a Walk of Fame recipient. She also echoed how she would like to keep the Walk of Fame commemorative pavers on the beach and move the induction ceremony back to coincide with the Great American Beach Party.

Selection of Chair

Committee members discussed the selection of a chair for 2019.

MOTION: Lochrie/Shavloske. Motion was made to appoint Sonya Burrows as Chair of the 2019 Walk of Fame Committee. Passed unanimously.

Public Discussion on 2019 Walk of Fame Nominations

Chair Burrows opened the floor for public discussion of the 2019 Walk of Fame honorees.

Chair Burrows recognized Susan Smoker Kane who spoke on behalf of her father, Fort Lauderdale visionary and developer, Stan Smoker. Chair Burrows recognized George Platt who spoke in support of the Perry family and the significant contributions they have made to ensuring a wonderful experience to everyone visiting the beach.

Chair Burrows recognized Jim Pancallo who spoke in support of hotelier Walter Banks and his commitment to strengthening and enhancing Fort Lauderdale's tourism industry. Chair Burrows recognized Bobby Henry, Sr. who spoke on behalf of his father, Levi Henry, Jr., who established the *Westside Gazette* newspaper to empower and give a voice to the African-American community.

Chair Burrows recognized Ina Lee who offered her support of the Perry Family and Walter Banks. Chair Burrows recognized George Platt who offered his support of Levi Henry, Jr. as well.

Chair Burrows closed the public discussion of the 2019 Walk of Fame honorees.

2019 Walk of Fame Selection

Chair Burrows opened the floor for committee discussion of the 2019 Walk of Fame honorees. Committee members discussed candidates.

Robert Lochrie questioned whether Calder, Hoffman, Hunt, and Taravella entries would be treated as individual entries or as a group entry under Coral Ridge Properties.

MOTION: Lochrie/Cunningham. A motion was made to treat entries of Calder, Hoffman, Hunt, and Taravella as a single/group entry. Passed unanimously.

MOTION: Lochrie/Shavloske. A motion was made to recognize the following people as 2019 Walk of Fame Honorees: Walter Banks, Levi Henry, Jr., the Perry family, and Stan Smoker. Passed unanimously.

Committee members discussed having two meetings prior to the 2020 Walk of Fame selection so that the award criteria and selection process could be further refined and formalized.

MOTION: Shavloske/Small. A motion was made to schedule a committee meeting in the fall to discuss award criteria and selection process, and to schedule a second meeting before the committee meets to review 2020 Walk of Fame nominations. Passed unanimously.

Staff noted they will be in touch with committee members in August/September to coordinate a date for the fall meeting.

MOTION: Lochrie/Cunningham. A motion was made to adjourn at 10:02 a.m. Passed unanimously.