

CITIZENS COMMITTEE OF RECOGNITION MEETING MINUTES

Monday, December 17, 2018 | 2 p.m.
Fort Lauderdale City Hall, 100 N. Andrews Avenue
City Commission Conference Room

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Former Mayors: Mayor James Naugle

Former Commissioner:
Commissioner John Rodstrom

Former Award Winners: Courtney Crush Mary Fertig

Fort Lauderdale Council of Civic Associations Representative: Michael Albetta

STAFF

D'Wayne Spence, Assistant City Attorney Chaz Adams, Strategic Communications Manager Monique J. Damiano, Senior Strategic Communications Specialist/Staff Liaison Safeea Ali, Administrative Assistant II

COMMUNICATION TO CITY COMMISSION

At their meeting on December 17, 2018, the Citizens Committee of Recognition discussed the need for a new award category to recognize the outstanding contributions of former City elected officials. They noted that, currently, there is no such award category and that many well-deserving former elected officials who were instrumental in shaping the progress and advancement of our City, have largely gone unrecognized for their efforts.

A Motion was made by Former Mayor Naugle, seconded by Courtney Crush, for consideration of a separate classification for elected officials, but with the provision that they be out of office and have not run for office in the past ten years. The motion passed unanimously.