PARKS, RECREATION, & BEACHES BOARD MINUTES CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE WEDNESDAY, MAY 23, 2018 – 5:30 P.M. CITY HALL – 8TH FLOOR 100 N ANDREWS AVE FORT LAUDERDALE, FL 33312

Cumulative Attendance Board Members	Attendence	Drecent	Aboont
	Attendance	Present	Absent
Bill Schonlau	Р	7	0
Bruce Quailey	Р	7	0
Brucie Cummings	Р	4	3
David Itskovich	Р	5	2
Debby Eisinger	Р	6	1
Dermot McQuarrie	А	4	3
James Jordan	Р	5	2
Jo Ann Smith	Р	5	2
Karen Polivka	Р	7	0
Marianna Seiler	Р	6	1
Marie Huntley	Р	3	1
Paul Davidson	Р	7	0
Robert Payne	Р	2	0
Roy Grimsland	Р	6	1

Oct 2017 - Sept 2018

As of this date, there are 14 appointed members to the Board, which means 8 would constitute a quorum. It was noted that a quorum was met for the meeting.

<u>Staff</u>

Phil Thornburg, Parks & Recreation Director Carl Williams, Parks & Recreation Deputy Director Orlando Castellano, Auditorium Manager Leona Osamor, Administrative Assistant Max Newhart, Auditorium Operations Manager

Public Attendees

Dennis Ulmer David Parker Marla Sherman Dumas Michaela M. Conca

Communications to the Commission

Motion was made by Jo Ann Smith and seconded by Brucie Cummings in support of completing the renovations needed at the War Memorial Auditorium and to the preservation of this historic facility. In addition, creating a board to explore the establishment of future projects or events such as the "Promenade Event" and identifying other avenues that would generate streams of revenue for the facility. In a voice vote, the **motion** passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Roy Grimsland and seconded by Bill Schonlou that an alternative name to War Memorial Auditorium be considered and as a suggestion "Veterans Memorial Auditorium" or similar that would honor the veterans without having the word "War" that suggests a negative connotation based on feedback received. **Motion failed** with **8 No's** and **5 Yes.**

Summary of voting results were as follows:

Bruce Quailey – No Brucie Cummings – No James Jordan – No Jo Ann Smith – No Karen Polivka – No Marianna Seiler – No Marie Huntley – No Robert Payne – No Bill Schonlou – Yes David Itskovitch – Yes Debby Eisinger – Yes Paul Davidson – Yes Roy Grimsland – Yes

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 PM.