#### 2<sup>nd</sup> DRAFT

## CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE 2023 WALK OF FAME COMMITTEE FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 24, 2023, 2:00 PM TO 4:00 PM CITY HALL – 8<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM

## **Committee Members Present**

Lillian Small
Robert Lochrie
Genia Ellis
Alex Bagwell
Patrick Shavloske
Gail Butler
George Hanbury

## **Staff Present**

Ingrid Kindbom, City Staff Liaison

#### Also Present:

Ilona M. Holmes, NAACP
Linda Brown, Guest NAACP
Lisa Scott Founds, President and CEO of Winterfest
Micki Scavone, General Manager of Carr Workplaces
Gary Chisling, Vice President of Team Horner
Dennis Ulmer
Grant Smith
Renee K. Quinn, President and CEO QuinnProQuo
Stephen McWilliam
Judy Stern
Kathy Salerno, Director of Community Affairs at Broward Health
Carla Blair, Recording Secretary, Prototype-Inc

#### I. Welcome and Introductions

Ingrid Kindbom introduced herself as Staff Liaison and noted she was filling in for Sarah Spurlock, Nighttime Economy Manager.

## II. Call Meeting to Order

Ms. Kindbom called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM. Roll call was done and there was a quorum.

## III. Approval of the February 28, 2022, Minutes

**Motion** made by Ms. Ellis, seconded by Mr. Lochrie to approve the February 28, 2022, minutes. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

#### IV. Selection of Chair for 2023

**Motion** made by Ms. Ellis, seconded by Mr. Hanbury to nominate Robert Lochrie as Chair. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

Roll was called and there was a quorum.

#### V. Discussion of 2022 Walk of Fame Nominations

Chair Lochrie provided background on the process and noted that they typically had a first run and then a second run to narrow down the nominees. He stated they had selected four (4) winners the last few years. He added that the public may present their nominees before the Committee discusses. He acknowledged the Committee had read all submitted materials.

Ms. Ilona M. Holmes, retired Broward County Circuit Judge and member of the NAACP, nominated Eula Johnson. She spoke on her accomplishments including attempts to integrate Fort Lauderdale beaches in the 1960s. Additionally, Ms. Johnson owned two gas stations and a grocery store.

Mr. Hanbury stated there were a lot of great candidates but recommended this nominee be selected.

**MOTION** made by Mr. Hanbury, seconded by Mr. Shavloske to recognize Eula Johnson as a 2023 Walk of Fame Honoree. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

Ms. Lisa Scott, President and CEO of Winterfest, nominated Shane Strum. She discussed his accomplishments including leadership within the community and being a member on the Winterfest Board for over 20 years. She also spoke about his work as CEO of Broward Health including vaccinations and development of a mobile medical RV.

Ms. Micki Scavone, General Manager of Carr Workplaces, also spoke in support of Mr. Strum. She shared a personal story in connection to Mr. Strum.

Ms. Renee Quinn, President and CEO of QuinnProQuo, also spoke in support of Mr. Strum.

Mr. Dennis Ulmer nominated Henry Kinney. He spoke about Mr. Kinney's accomplishments including his work on the tunnel referendum and contribution to economic growth.

Mr. Gary Chisling, Vice President of Team Horner, spoke about Dr. Bill Kent's accomplishments including his commitment to Team Horner, International Swimming Hall of Fame, scholarships, and water safety.

Walk of Fame Committee3 February 24, 2023

Mr. Grant Smith nominated Michael Egan. He spoke about Mr. Egan's accomplishments including his impact as a business owner of Alamo Rent a Car, Broward Center for Performing Arts, and donor to the Swimming Hall of Fame.

Mr. Stephen McWilliam nominated Frank Adderley. He spoke about Mr. Adderley's accomplishments and leadership within the Fort Lauderdale Police Department.

Ms. Judy Stern also spoke about Mr. Adderley's nomination and his work within the Fort Lauderdale community.

Ms. Kathy Salerno, Director of Community Affairs at Broward Health, spoke about Mr. Strum's nomination and highlighted his work to increase access to healthcare for underserved populations.

#### VI. 2023 Walk of Fame Selections

Committee discussed procedures for ranking. Chair Lochrie recommended ranking Top 8, with #8 being the highest choice. Chair Lochrie noted Ms. Johnson has already been selected at spot #8.

Committee discussed various nominees and their accomplishments.

Ms. Kindbom tallied the scores and noted the top four choices were: Eula Johnson, Shane Strum, Frank Adderley, and Chuck Black. Ms. Ellis noted Mr. Black was deceased and spoke about some of his accomplishments.

Chair Lochrie asked Ms. Kindbom to read the additional names, in order of descending scores.

Discussion ensued about the nominees, criteria for decision making, scoring, and whether to consider a fifth nominee.

Chair Lochrie listed their top five choices, in no order: Eula Johnson, Shane Strum, Frank Adderley, Chuck Black, and Michael Egan.

**MOTION** made by Mr. Hanbury, seconded by Mr. Shavloske to nominate a fifth 2023 Walk of Fame Honoree. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

Ms. Kindbom stated the five nominees would go to the City Commission for consideration on March 8, 2023.

## VII. Other Matters of Interest or Concern

None.

Walk of Fame Committee4 February 24, 2023

# VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 3:10 PM.

[Minutes prepared by TBaclawski, Prototype Inc.]