#### **APPROVED**

# City of Fort Lauderdale WALK OF FAME COMMITTEE Virtual Meeting via Zoom Friday, March 30, 2021 – 2:00 p.m. MINUTES

# **Committee Members Present**

Sonya Burrows, Chair
Denyse Cunningham
Dr. Harry Moon (designee of George Hanbury) [until 2:33]
Robert Lochrie, III
Patrick Shavloske
Ramola Motwani

## **Committee Members Absent:**

Lillian Small

## **Staff Present**

Sarah Spurlock, Nighttime Economy Manager Jamie Opperlee, Recording Secretary, Prototype Inc.

## **Also Present**

Dennis Ulmer

#### Welcome/Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 p.m. Committee members and staff members introduced themselves.

Ms. Spurlock explained that since no selections had been made on the nominations last year, they had incorporated those into this year's nominees list. She announced the induction ceremony would be held at the July 4 Beach Party instead of the Memorial Day Beach Party. They would also honor the 2019 inductees at that event.

Ms. Spurlock suggested each member state their top eight nominees, to narrow the list from the total of 29. There would ultimately be no more than four winners.

Ms. Burrows said the Committee had discussed at their last meeting informing the nominators that they could speak at the meeting. Ms. Spurlock stated she had posted notice of the meeting.

Mr. Lochrie asked if all applications had been complete and Ms. Spurlock said if an application was lacking, she advised the applicant to provide the missing information.

#### Selection of Chair for 2021

**MOTION** made by Mr. Shavloske, seconded by Ms. Motwani to appoint Sonya Burrows as Chair of the 2021 Walk of Fame Committee. Motion passed unanimously.

## Public Discussion on 2021 Walk of Fame Nominations

Chair Burrows opened the floor for public discussion of the 2021 Walk of Fame honorees.

Chair Burrows recognized Dennis Ulmer, who had nominated Sylvia Aldridge, one of the City's first black settlers, in 1904. Ms. Aldridge had founded the first employment agency and a cab company for black commuters. She had also helped raise funds for Provident Hospital, which served the Black Community until desegregation the 1960s. Ms. Aldridge had founded the Dillard High School PTA and helped fund the school's first band.

Chair Burrows closed the public discussion of the 2021 Walk of Fame honorees.

#### 2021 Walk of Fame Selection

Committee members listed their top eight choices and Ms. Spurlock tallied the votes. The top three vote getters were Sylvia Aldridge, Michael Hurst and John MacDonald. Eugenia Ellis and Maryann Gray were tied.

Dr. Moon left the meeting at 2:33.

Chair Burrows opened the floor for Committee discussion of the 2021 Walk of Fame honorees. Committee members discussed the top selections.

Committee members voted to break the tie between Ms. Gray and Ms. Ellis and Ms. Ellis received the majority of votes.

**MOTION** made by Mr. Lochrie, seconded by Mr. Shavloske to recognize the following people as 2021 Walk of Fame Honorees: Sylvia Aldridge, Michael Hurst, Eugenia Ellis, and John MacDonald. Motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Motwani recalled that a newly relocated couple had sought her out upon moving to Fort Lauderdale. They had noticed her name on the Walk of Fame and asked her about her contributions and how they could contribute to the City with their foundation. She noted this was how the award continued to offer opportunities and increase Fort Lauderdale's legacy.

## Approval of Minutes

Chair Burrows recalled discussing the following:

- Changing the criteria to refer to "sustained impact" and that the impact should be related to more than a person's career
- Including an invitation for nominators to speak at the meeting

Mr. Lochrie suggested including the invitation to address the Committee on the application. Ms. Spurlock agreed this could be done, but was concerned that this could result in a bias in favor of those who had someone speak at the meeting. Mr. Lochrie noted how long the meeting might be if every nominator spoke. He felt everyone should be made aware that they would have the opportunity to speak if they wished.

Mr. Shavloske suggested sending an email to everyone who submitted an application, informing them of the date of the meeting and that they would be afforded a brief period of time to speak.

Mr. Lochrie suggested holding the meeting earlier in the year to allow time for a second meeting if they needed it.

Ms. Spurlock informed the Committee that the City Commission would hear this at their April 20 meeting.

Ms. Spurlock said they would try to schedule a January or February meeting next year. She asked Committee members to attend the April 20 City Commission meeting if possible to discuss their decision with the Commission.

**MOTION** made by Mr. Lochrie, seconded by Mr. Shavloske to approve the 2019 Walk of Fame Committee minutes. Motion passed unanimously.

#### Other Matters of Interest or Concern

None

## Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Jamie Opperlee, Prototype Inc.