MINUTES CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE 2024 WALK OF FAME COMMITTEE FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2024,1:00 PM TO 4:00 PM 528 NW 2nd Street, Third Floor

Committee Members Present

Lillian Small Genia Ellis Alex O'Connor Gail Butler Robert Lochrie

Staff Present

Joshua Carden, Public Art & Cultural Affairs Officer Melissa Mata, Senior Management Fellow

Also Present:

Tom Watson, United Way
Mario Caprini, Capital Group/ISHOF
Casey McGovern, Every Child a Swimmer
Leia Bosco, Allied Kitchen and Bath
Jessica Moore, Carlton B Moore Freedom Foundation
Forest Moore, Carlton B Moore Freedom Foundation
Carla Blair, Recording Secretary, Prototype-Inc

I. Welcome and Introductions

Committee members introduced themselves. Mr. Lochrie noted prior comments suggested limiting the honorees to three.

II. Call Meeting to Order

Mr. Lochrie called the meeting to order at 1:07 PM. Roll call was done and there was a quorum.

III. Approval of the February 24, 2023, Minutes

Motion made by Ms. Ellis, seconded by Mr. Lochrie to approve the February 24, 2023, minutes. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

IV. Selection of Chair for 2024

Motion made by Ms. Ellis, seconded by Ms. Butler to nominate Robert Lochrie as Chair. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

V. Discussion of 2024 Walk of Fame Nominations

Mr. Tom Watson, CFO of the United Way, nominated Kathleen Cannon. He spoke about her accomplishments including the growth of the organization. He highlighted, under her leadership, increased efforts in affordable housing, homeless prevention, rapid rehousing, and services for veterans.

Mr. Mario Caprini, CEO Capital Group, nominated William Kent. He spoke about Mr. Kent's successes including a public private partnership with his company supporting the International Swimming Hall of Fame. He highlighted Mr. Kent's vision and leadership.

Ms. Casey McGovern, Every Child a Swimmer, also nominated William Kent. She spoke about Mr. Kent's leadership and vision for Every Child a Swimmer.

Ms. Leia Bosco, Allied Kitchen and Bath, nominated Bill Feinberg. She spoke about Mr. Feinberg's accolades including support for Habitat for Humanity. She read a letter for support from Nancy Robin, CEO of Habitat of Humanity of Broward County.

Ms. Jessica Moore nominated her father-in-law, Carlton Moore. She noted Mr. Moore was a District 3 Commissioner and this honor would be posthumously, as he passed away. She spoke about his accomplishments, impacts on the City, and their family foundation.

Mr. Forest Moore also nominated his father, Carlton Moore. Mr. Moore spoke about his father's contributions to the City.

VI. 2024 Walk of Fame Selections

Mr. Carden explained the Committee was asked to submit their Top 5 selections prior to the meeting. He noted it was narrowed down to the following names: Michael Albetta, Ciara Bostick, Don Campion, Kathleen Cannon, Rick & Rita Case, Bill Feinberg, Guy Harvey, Jerry Holland, William Kent, Renee Korbel Quinn, Carlton B. Moore, Bruce G. Roberts, Norman Tripp, and Lisa Vecchi.

Ms. Small requested to add Jacqueline Lorber to the list.

Committee discussed next steps to reduce the list. Mr. Carden confirmed the Committee should ultimately select three final nominees.

Discussion ensued about the nominees and criteria for decision making.

Mr. Carden noted Mr. Moore had unanimous support for Top 5. He noted the next highest is Bruce Roberts and many of the other candidates are split with one and two votes.

Discussion continued about the nominees and reduction of honorees from five to three.

Committee discussed changes to receipt of materials next year.

MOTION made by Ms. Small, seconded by Ms. Ellis to recommend Carlton B. Moore, Bruce G. Roberts, and Guy Harvey for the 2024 Walk of Fame and recommend to the City Commission a return to four nominees in the future. In a voice vote, the **motion passed** unanimously.

VII. Other Matters of Interest or Concern

None.

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 2:13 PM.

[Minutes prepared by TBaclawski, Prototype-Inc.]