# **City of Fort Lauderdale**

https://fortlauderdale.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx www.fortlauderdale.gov/fltv www.youtube.com/cityoffortlauderdale Cable Television - Comcast Channel 78 and AT&T U-verse Channel 99



## **Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, December 3, 2024 10:00 AM

**Commission Swearing-In Ceremony - Organization Meeting** 

Broward Center for the Performing Arts - Mary N. Porter Riverview Ballroom - 201 SW 5th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33312

## **CITY COMMISSION WORKSHOP**

FORT LAUDERDALE CITY COMMISSION

DEAN J. TRANTALIS Mayor
STEVEN GLASSMAN Vice Mayor - Commissioner - District II
JOHN C. HERBST Commissioner - District I
PAM BEASLEY-PITTMAN Commissioner - District III
BEN SORENSEN Commissioner - District IV

SUSAN GRANT, Acting City Manager DAVID R. SOLOMAN, City Clerk D'WAYNE M. SPENCE, Interim City Attorney PATRICK REILLY, City Auditor

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Acting City Manager Susan Grant announced the start of the Swearing-In Ceremony at 10:13 a.m., welcomed attendees and officiated the ceremony.

### **COMMISSION QUORUM ESTABLISHED**

**Commission Members Present:** Commissioner John C. Herbst, Vice Mayor Steven Glassman, Commissioner Pamela Beasley-Pittman, Commissioner Ben Sorensen, and Mayor Dean J. Trantalis

**Also Present:** Acting City Manager Susan Grant, City Clerk David R. Soloman, Interim City Attorney D'Wayne M. Spence, and City Auditor Patrick Reilly

#### SWEARING-IN CEREMONY

Mayor Dean J. Trantalis was sworn into office as Mayor of the City of Fort Lauderdale by the Honorable Judge Jack Tuter, Chief Judge of the Broward County Seventeenth (17) Judicial Circuit of Florida.

A ceremonial swearing-in of the District Commissioners followed.

District 1 Commissioner John C. Herbst - Sworn in by Connie Valencia

District 2 Commissioner/Vice Mayor Steven Glassman - Sworn in by Fort Lauderdale Police Chaplain Ron Perkins

District 2 Commissioner Pam Beasley-Pittman - Sworn in by Bethel Missionary Baptist Church Pastor Jimmy English

District 4 Commissioner Ben Sorensen - Sworn in by Donna Sorensen (mother), Anna Sorensen (spouse), and Louise Sorensen (daughter)

The Mayor and each District Commissioner provided brief remarks following their ceremonial swearing-in, acknowledging the work of those who contributed to their successful campaigns and everyone who will assist with attaining goals to address the needs of residents and improve the community.

#### ORGANIZATION MEETING

Mayor Trantalis called the Organizational Meeting to order at 11:02 a.m.

## **ROLL CALL**

Commissioner John C. Herbst, Vice Mayor Steven Glassman, Commissioner Pamela Beasley-Pittman, Commissioner Ben Sorensen, and Mayor Dean J. Trantalis

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Mayor Trantalis adjourned the Organizational Meeting at 11:02 a.m.