## **RESOLUTION NO. 24-**

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA, APPROVING A CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE FY 2025 NOT FOR PROFIT GRANT PARTICIPATION AGREEMENT WITH AREAWIDE COUNCIL ON AGING OF BROWARD COUNTY, INC., AUTHORIZING EXECUTION OF THE NOT FOR PROFIT GRANT PARTICIPATION AGREEMENT, AND PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY AND AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, Areawide Council on Aging of Broward County, Inc. ("Council on Aging"), plans, develops, coordinates, and evaluates programs, funds services, and is the prime advocate for Broward County residents 60 years of age or older; and

WHEREAS, the Council on Aging offers a wide range of meal and transportation services and resources to City of Fort Lauderdale seniors and adults with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the City's contribution of grant funds will support the Council on Aging's meal programs, and thereby serve a legitimate public and municipal purpose;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF FORT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA:

<u>SECTION 1</u>. The City Commission of the City of Fort Lauderdale, Florida, hereby approves a City of Fort Lauderdale FY 2025 Not for Profit Grant Participation Agreement with Areawide Council on Aging of Broward County, Inc., ("Grant Participation Agreement"), in substantially the form attached to City Commission Agenda Memo #24-0951, and authorizes execution of the Grant Participation Agreement.

<u>SECTION 2</u>. That if any clause, section, or other part of this Resolution shall be held invalid or unconstitutional by any court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder of this Resolution shall not be affected thereby, but shall remain in full force and effect.

<u>SECTION 3</u>. That this Resolution shall be in full force and effect upon its adoption.

ADOPTED this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2024.

Mayor DEAN J. TRANTALIS **RESOLUTION NO. 24-**

PAGE 2

ATTEST:

City Clerk DAVID R. SOLOMAN

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND CORRECTNESS:

Interim City Attorney D'WAYNE M. SPENCE

Dean J. Trantalis	
John C. Herbst	
Steven Glassman	
Pamela Beasley-Pittman	
Ben Sorensen	